DA Mike Schmidt Statement on Gun Violence in Multnomah County

PORTLAND, Ore. – Today, Multnomah County District Attorney Mike Schmidt released the following statement:

“We are experiencing a gun violence crisis that is leaving our community overwhelmed in fear and trauma. This cycle of brutal violence can never become normal or acceptable. The murders of this week have claimed the lives of five people including a husband, two fathers, a 16-year-old son, and last night a man witnessed his wife murdered in cold blood. Trying to fathom these senseless crimes and to understand the trauma inflicted upon the families of a murder victim is unimaginable. Our black and minority communities are regularly plagued, traumatized and impacted by disproportionate rates of gun violence. My office is committed to working and collaborating with everyone who is dedicated to ending this epidemic of violence.

Let us remember those who have died in our community this year as the result of some sort of homicidal violence[1]:

Aaron Danielson,

Abdishukri Uren,

Aja Raquell Rhone-Spears,

Amber Marie Coughtry,

Anthony Tyler McNaughton,

Benjamin Johnson,

Billy Lewnes,

Cassy Leaton,

Christopher Klein,

Cody Nicholas Vickers,

Darryl Antonio Lewis,

De’Andre Rouse,

DeAnnzello McDonald,

Derrick James Jensen,

Dhulfigar Kareem Mseer,

Dominique Marcel Dunn,

Elmer Hughes,

Erick Antelmo Torres Hernandez,

Eunice Castillo-Ross,

Evelin Navarro-Barajas,

Gabriel Elain Rivera,

Gus Komas,

Harold Andrew Major,

Huarleen Bain,

Ian Alexander Phillips,

Iryonna Bynum,

Jaelin James Scott,

James Allen Anderson,

James Richard Greenwood,

Jeffrey Sloan,

Jimmy Lee Melton,

Jordan Louis,

Julian Heredia,

Julio Montee,

Kenneth Lee Griffin,

Lasalle Jamal Shakier Jr.,

Lawrence Murphy,

Lee Hudson,

Lori Steltz,

Matthew Choi,

Michael Arthur,

Michael Epps Jr.,

Milo Raney-Hill,

Mister Ford,

Nadezhda Volobuev,

Najaf “Nate” Hobbs,

Noah Terry,

Safari Greenwood,

Sammie Lee West III,

Shai’India Harris,

Sharon Carr (Tate),

Shawn Fujioka,

Tashia Cobb,                       

Thomas Hammond,

Tod Alan Barker,

Tyrell Penney.

We must all work together to prevent another name from being added to this list.”