

OREGON HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES House Republican Caucus

February 15, 2024

Dear Senate President Wagner, Speaker Rayfield, and Co-Chairs Lieber and Kropf,

Oregon is in crisis. Drugs, crime, and homelessness plague our state. They are the direct result of Measure 110's failure. The people are demanding substantive action, and this legislature must deliver for them.

The first step toward a safer, healthier Oregon is to get the drugs off the streets and addicts into treatment. Measure 110 promised treatment, but instead it opened the floodgates to access and addiction. Removing accountability from the equation has, predictably, yielded disastrous results.

To that end, we, the undersigned, are committed to supporting a bill that reclassifies the possession of deadly drugs – such as fentanyl, heroin, and meth – with accountability at least equivalent to a Class A Misdemeanor. We also fully support optional pre-trial booking diversion.

A Class A Misdemeanor provides a year of drug treatment and diversion opportunities for those charged with possession to get their addictions under control so that they can become productive members of society. This is a necessary mechanism to get people off the street and into treatment. Without a catalyst for change, the status quo of failure will endure.

Other proposals fall well short of providing the treatment pathways necessary for serious addicts to address their addictions. For example, a Class C Misdemeanor provides a maximum of only 30 days in the justice system, which is not nearly enough time for a fentanyl addict to recover.

This legislature must act in a meaningful way to solve the drug, crime, and homeless crises facing our state. Anything short of the equivalent of a Class A Misdemeanor lacks the accountability needed to get Oregon back on the right path. Papering over a problem is tantamount to doing nothing, and that is simply not an option.

We do this for all Oregonians who support our law enforcement and district attorneys.

Sincerely,

Jeff Helfrich House Republican Leader

Ingle

Virgle Osborne State Representative, District 2

Christine Goodwar

Christine Goodwin State Representative, District 4

Boomer Wright State Representative, District 9

arles Conron

Charlie Conrad State Representative, District 12

Court Boice State Representative, House District 1

wayne ?

Dwayne Yunker State Representative, District 3

W)allan

Kim Wallan State Representative, District 6

Jami Cate State Representative, District 11

Shelp Bout Davis

Shelly Boshart Davis State Representative, District 15

Ed Diehl State Representative, District 17

Lemi Z. Manin

Kevin Mannix State Representative, District 21

Anna Scharf State Representative, District 23

Brian Stout State Representative, District 31

James Hieb State Representative, District 51

View Bruse Wirgh

Vikki Breese-Iverson State Representative, District 59

Mark Owens State Representative, District 60

Rick Lewis State Representative, District 18

KUNUN

Tracy Cramer State Representative, District 22

reettallover

Lucetta Elmer State Representative, District 24

Cyrus Javadi State Representative, District 32



Emily McIntire State Representative, District 56

Bobby Levy State Representative, District 58

E. Werner Reschke State Representative, District 55