Call for volunteers to join the Mt. Hood-Willamette Resource Advisory Committee

Hood River, Ore.— The Mt. Hood and Willamette National Forests, and the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area are seeking volunteers to serve as members of the Hood-Willamette Resource Advisory Committee, representing Multnomah, Hood River and Wasco Counties. Applications are accepted year-round, but to be considered for placement in the next year, applications are due Sept. 1, 2022.

RAC members can have a direct impact on where and how millions of federal dollars are spent over the next three years. These dollars improve local infrastructure, create local jobs, enhance tourism opportunities, and restore ecosystems in their communities and both on and off federal land. The time commitment is minimal, typically with one or two one-day meetings per year, and travel expenses may be reimbursed.

RACs are chartered under the Secure Rural Schools & Community Self Determination Act, which was recently extended for an additional three years by congress. This extension will authorize approximately $3 million in Title II payments. This funding can be used for roads, recreation, natural resource restoration, creating jobs in communities around the Willamette and Mt. Hood National Forests.

The Hood-Willamette RAC consists of 9-15 members who represent a broad variety of interests. 

To be selected, nominees must demonstrate the ability to effectively work in an environment with diverse interests and opinions. The Act encourages the representation of minorities, women, and people with disabilities on RACs. Prospective members must reside in Oregon, and preference will be given to those residing in counties under jurisdiction of the Hood-Willamette RAC, including Wasco, Hood River, Multnomah, Clackamas, Marion, Linn, Lane, and Douglas counties.

Anyone interested in serving on the Hood-Willamette RAC may visit

You may also contact RAC Coordinator Jennifer Sorensen at or (541) 510-1102 for more information.

Learn more about the Secure Rural Schools Act