Senator Murray Joins Bicameral Resolution Uplifting the Numerous Contributions and Accomplishments of Immigrants in America

The resolution recognizes June as ‘Immigrant Heritage Month’

(Washington, D.C.) – This week, U.S. Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) joined 13 Senate colleagues in a bicameral resolution led by Senator Bob Menendez (D-NJ) recognizing June 2022 as “Immigrant Heritage Month.” The resolution uplifts the immense contributions immigrants and their children have made to America’s institutions, economy, history, and culture and was introduced on the 10th year anniversary of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, which has transformed the lives of hundreds of thousands of young immigrants who were brought to the United States as children. Representative Ritchie Torres (D-N.Y.-15) is the lead for the companion resolution in the House of Representatives.

“Immigrants are an essential part of our communities in Washington state and across the country, making valuable contributions to both our society and economy. Establishing June as Immigrant Heritage Month is a way for us to honor and celebrate the achievements of every immigrant community,” said Senator Murray. “Whether it’s protecting Dreamers, fighting for humane, comprehensive immigration reform, or standing up against racist, xenophobic attacks on our immigrant communities, I am firmly committed to continuing any and all conversations until we make some real progress.”

The bicameral resolution celebrates the countless contributions by immigrant families for a healthier, safer, more diverse, prosperous country, and acknowledges their importance to the future successes of the United States. The resolution also calls for Members of Congress, executive agencies, and the President to promote effective and just immigration policy for immigrants presently in the country, their families, and individuals seeking to immigrate to the United States in the future.

Joining Senator Menendez and Senator Murray in cosponsoring the resolution are Sens. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA.), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Ed Markey (D-MA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), and Jacky Rosen (D-NV.

Find a copy of the resolution HERE.