Young wins Heisman

NEW YORK (AP) — Alabama has produced four Heisman Trophy winners, but the award had escaped Crimson Tide quarterbacks until Bryce Young captured it on Saturday.

Young has passed for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns this season, leading top-ranked Alabama to an SEC title and a spot in the College Football Playoff. The sophomore received 684 first-place votes and 2,311 points to easily outdistance Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson.

Alabama is the fifth school with consecutive winners of college football’s most prestigious player of the year award. DeVonta Smith took the honor last year.

Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett finished third, followed by Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud.