Oregon Governor Kate Brown approves 31 Counties to open under Phase 1

Edited 5/14 at 4:20 pm

Today, Oregon Governor Kate Brown approves 31 of the 33 Counties that applied to open under Phase 1 of the COVID-19 reopening. Tomorrow, May 15th will be the day that the following Counties may begin Phase 1.

  • Baker
  • Benton
  • Clatsop
  • Columbia
  • Coos
  • Crook
  • Curry
  • Deschutes
  • Douglas
  • Gilliam
  • Grant
  • Harney
  • Hood River
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Josephine
  • Klamath
  • Lake
  • Lane
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Malheur
  • Morrow
  • Sherman
  • Tillamook
  • Umatilla
  • Union
  • Walowa
  • Wasco
  • Wheeler
  • Yamhill

At this time, Governor Brown chose not to approve Marion & Polk Counties

Three Counties did not apply at this time, Clackamas, Multnomah & Washington Counties.

In Phase I, counties can begin the limited reopening of the following sectors under specific safety guidelines:

  • Restaurants and bars for sit-down service
  • Personal care and services businesses, including barbers and salons
  • In-person gatherings of up to 25 people

Counties must remain in Phase I for at least 21 days before becoming eligible to advance to Phase II. If counties begin to see significant increases in COVID-19 cases or community spread, the Oregon Health Authority will work with local public health officials to evaluate what actions should be taken. Significant growth in COVID-19 spread could necessitate a county moving back from Phase I to a stay-home status. More details on Phases II and III are forthcoming.

The Governor also announced that large gatherings such as conventions, festivals, and major concerts and live audience sporting events will need to be cancelled at least through September. Restarting events of this size will require a reliable treatment or prevention, like a vaccine, which is many months off. Further guidance on large events will be provided in the coming months.

For more information on the plans and sector-specific guidance, go to coronavirus.oregon.gov