McMorris Rodgers, Herrera Buetler join Dems in Trump vote

SEATTLE (AP) — Two of the three Republicans in Washington’s congressional delegation joined every Democrat in the U.S. House in voting to overturn President Donald Trump’s declaration of a national emergency on the southern border.

The Democratic-controlled House on Tuesday passed the resolution, which would block Trump’s attempt to fund a wall on the border, 245-182.

The Seattle Times reports that Reps. Cathy McMorris Rodgers, R-Spokane, and Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Camas, were two of just 13 Republicans to side with Democrats, in opposition to Trump. Rep. Dan Newhouse, R-Sunnyside, voted with most Republicans to allow Trump’s emergency declaration.

Both congresswomen said they supported Trump’s push for a wall, but were voting to preserve the powers delegated to Congress.