Burn bans extended in Sherman, Klickitat counties

Sherman County

The following press release was received from Shawn Payne, Sherman County Emergency Services Director on September 25:

Due to continued warm and dry weather and heavy fuel loads, the Sherman County burn ban will remain in effect until at least October 15th. This ban covers North Sherman County Rural Fire Protection District, Moro Rural Fire Protection and the City of Moro.

Klickitat County

Due to the high wildfire hazard conditions experienced this summer and continued lack of sufficient precipitation, Klickitat County is extending the ban on outdoor burning within Klickitat County Burn Ban Zone Two, defined as lands between the Klickitat County Fire District #7 eastern boundary west to the western boundaries of Klickitat County Fire Districts #4, 12 and 15 then north on the Klickitat River to the north county line, to include but not limited to Klickitat County Fire Districts #4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14 and 15; outside the corporate limits of any city or town; the jurisdiction of the Yakama Indian Nation; and the jurisdiction of the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and prohibiting the issuance of burning permits except for authorized agricultural burning. Residential barbecues will be allowed. Said ban on outdoor burning shall be in full force and effect through October 12, 2018. The public is directed to check with the appropriate authorities concerning burning restrictions within the corporate limits of any city or town.