Paula Stokes – Girl Against the Universe

Paula Stokes official web resGirl Against the Universe CoverAbout the Book

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

About the Author

Paula Stokes is the author of several novels, most recently Girl Against the Universe and Liars, Inc., the latter of which received a starred review from Kirkus. Her writing has been translated into eleven foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. She also loves interacting with readers. Find her online at authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.

Paula Stokes will be one of the 12 authors appearing at Klindt’s Booksellers in The Dalles for their Spring Author Festival Saturday June 4.

To hear our interview with Paula Stokes, click on the grey podcast bar below:

Kirby Larson – Audacity Jones to the Rescue

 

K Larson photoAudacity Jones cover

About the Book

Audacity Jones is an eleven-year-old orphan who aches for adventure, a challenge to break up the monotony of her life at Miss Maisie’s School for Wayward Girls. Life as a wayward girl isn’t so bad; Audie has the best of friends, a clever cat companion, and plenty of books to read. Still, she longs for some excitement, like the characters in the novels she so loves encounter.
So when the mysterious Commodore Crutchfield visits the school and whisks Audie off to Washington, DC, she knows she’s in for the journey of a lifetime. But soon, it becomes clear that the Commodore has unsavory plans for Audie — plans that involve the president of the United States and a sinister kidnapping plot. Before she knows it, Audie winds up in the White House kitchens, where she’s determined to stop the Commodore dead in his tracks. Can Audie save the day before it’s too late?

About the Author

Kirby Larson is the acclaimed author of the 2007 Newbery Honor book Hattie Big Sky; its sequel, Hattie Ever After; The Friendship Doll; and Dear America: The Fences Between Us. She has also co-written a number of picture books, including the award-winning Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival; and Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle. She lives in Washington State with her husband and Winston the Wonder Dog.
Kirby Larson will be one of the dozen authors appearing at the Spring Author Festival at Klindt’s Booksellers in The Dalles on Saturday, June 4.
Her website is here.
To hear our interview with Kirby Larson, click on the grey podcast bar below:

Kara Hamilton – A New Leash on Life

A New Leash on Life 300kara 300Smokey, the miniature apricot poodle, is blessed. But can it last? With the arrival of a new baby, he struggles to adjust to his new place in the family. After several failed tactics, he ingeniously teaches the baby how to behave around him so they may co-exist peacefully. He realizes that there’s enough love for everyone in the family, and also gains a new best friend.

This is a charming book, beautifully illustrated and lovingly written. It also includes a helpful, illustrated guide at the back with instructions for how a child should approach a dog, and what signs to look for that the dog isn’t ready to play. And an interview with the Moms of The Humane Society of the United States offers additional tips for introducing a new family member to a pet, how to teach a child to interact safely with their own 0r other people’s pets, and more.

About the Author

The adjective multi-talented is thrown around with increasing frequency these days, often with little justification. But in the case of our guest this morning, it is entirely warranted. Kara Hamilton has an actual degree in broadcast journalism from Florida State where she was a regular contributor to Florida A&M’s newspaper and to what was then the Sunshine Network and now Fox Sports Sun. Then she headed north to New York for an acting career involving indie films, national commercials and David Letterman. But that’s not all. She also has appeared as a model in international campaigns for BMW, Dockers, Ponds and Hanes among others and graced the covers of national magazines.
Now she has written the book A New Leash on Life.
It tells the story of a beloved family dog reacting to a new top dog in the family – a baby who soaks up all the attention, and how the family ultimately adjusts.

Find out more about Kara Hamilton at her website.

You can hear our interview with Kara Hamilton by clicking on the grey podcast bar below

 

Laura Miller – Raw. Vegan. Not Gross.

The book

The book

Laura Miller, photo by David Loftus

Laura Miller, photo by David Loftus

Eating vegan should mean celebrating flavor, not sacrificing it! Laura Miller does just that with her new cookbook, Raw. Vegan. Not Gross. The YouTube star brings her enthusiastic spirit into her cooking with recipes that appeal to not only vegans but all who love food. The recipes are paired with gorgeous photographs taken by Jamie Oliver’s renowned photographer, David Loftus. Laura’s debut cookbook includes more than a hundred completely vegan and mostly raw recipes that are easy to make and to love. Laura makes eating vegan fun with simple recipes tht include everything from your energizing morning avacado grapefruit bowl, sweet potato curry for a savory dinner to her mouthwatering lavender cheesecake for dessert that looks (almost) too beautiful to eat.

To hear our interview with Laura Miller, click on the grey podcast bar below:

 

Doug Hansen – California, The Magic Island

California the Magic IslandDoug HansenQueen Calafia, the main character of a sixteenth-century Spanish romance about an island overflowing with gold and populated by Amazon-like women, is incensed when she hears that we have adopted her name for our state. Being the good and reasonable queen that she is, she’s willing to hear from twenty-six animals about why California is worthy of her name. But if she decides it isn’t, she’ll launch an army of goddesses riding griffins to wreak her vengeance! Each animal characterizes California in a key cultural object or historical event: for example, the swordfish describes the tomols of the Chumash people, while the gull tells Calafia about the Gold Rush. Large, intricate illustrations display a wealth of research into every subject, rendered with the highest level of artistic skill.

More majestic than most ABC books, California, the Magic Island is a delightful exploration of what makes California worthy of its regal name.

To listen to our interview with Doug Hansen, click the grey podcast bar below:

 

Fred Setterberg – Sam Maloof: 36 Views of a Master Woodworker

Excerpt from Chapter 7 – Former President Jimmy Carter:
“He was not just the best woodworker that ever lived, (h)e was a person admirable in all his characteristics. He was a philosopher. He was deeply committed to basic moral values. I really have been inspired by Sam.”
Fred Setterberg picMaloof cover_300rgbThe first craftsman to receive a MacArthur Foundation genius grant, a man whom his friend and fellow furniture maker Jimmy Carter called the best woodworker that ever lived, Sam Maloof was one of the great masters of midcentury modernism. His pieces sensuous, inviting design and immaculate workmanship elide any distance in critical perception between craft and art, and his furniture is found in private domains throughout the world and in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, and the Smithsonian. Warm and gregarious, Maloof was loved by those who knew him. His Southern California compound became the hub of a rich network of artists and artisans; and today, six years after his death, thousands of visitors pass through his home and workshop to catch a glimpse of a life so rich in beauty.

This engaging book, which will be released on the centennial of Maloof s birth, skillfully weaves together the words of family, friends, and associates to present thirty-six perspectives on a great artist. Far from the solitary genius we often imagine a creative person to be, the person who emerges from these stories is both the proud product of the community from which he originated and an anchor of the Pomona Valley arts scene he helped create. Surprising and illuminative, Sam Maloof places not only art, but also the role of the artist, at the heart of our culture. The book includes over one hundred color and black-and-white photographs.Published in collaboration with The Sam and Alfreda Maloof Foundation for Arts & Crafts

To listen to our interview with Mr. Setterberg, click on the grey podcast bar below

Mary Higgins Clark – As Time Goes By

As Time Goes By coverMary_Higgins_Clark_from WikipediaInternational and New York Times bestselling author Mary Higgins Clark has written thirty-five suspense novels; three collections of short stories; a historical novel; two children’s books; and a memoir, Kitchen Privileges. With her daughter Carol Higgins Clark, she has coauthored five more suspense novels. Her books have sold more than 100 million copies in the United States alone. We spoke with her back in November 2014 about The Cinderella Murder written with Alafair Burke, and we are delighted to have her back today for her latest, As Time Goes By

The title is a reference to the classic song from Casablanca, and  the line just before that might well apply to her own successful career – “the fundamental things apply:” In her case, that means creating interesting, believable characters, putting them in a complex threatening situation, blending well and serving to the readers with zest. 

To hear our interview, click the grey podcast bar below