Leigh Rubin – Rubes’ Twisted Pop Culture

Rubes Twisted Pop CultureCartoon Leigh Rubin ImageRubes’ Twisted Pop Culture is a powerful new cartoon collection from one of the most entertaining cartoonists appearing in any newspaper comics page.

And his single-panel cartoon does it without any recurring characters. That gives him  tremendous freed0m, but it also means he has to create each one from scratch, without any running gags to lean on.

Fortunately, he is more than up to the task.

This 240-page book features more than 250 full-color cartoons hand-selected and colored by the cartoonist himself specifically for this project.

• More than 250 Rubes® Cartoons
• 240 pages, archival quality
• Limited edition, collector’s item

Order online HERE.

About the cartoonist:

Leigh Rubin began his cartooning career in 1978 by establishing his own greeting card company, Rubes Publications. His first cartoon collection, the popular Notable Quotes musical cartoons, was published in 1981.

In 2009 Leigh celebrated the 25th anniversary of Rubes® with the publication of The Wild and Twisted World of Rubes, a “best of” collection which contains 240 of his personal favorites out of over 9,500 cartoons.

Originally self-syndicated, Rubes is now distributed by Creators Syndicate to more than 400 media outlets worldwide. Rubes appears in The Dalles Chronicle and in major daily metropolitan papers, such as the Oregonian, the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, the Toronto Sun, The Washington Times, the Sacramento Bee, The Orange County Register, the Los Angeles Daily News.

Listen to our interview with Leigh Rubin by clicking on the grey podcast bar at the bottom of the page.

Sample pages from Rubes’ Twisted Pop Culture

Rubes page 1

Rubes page 2

Soman Chainani – The Ever Never Handbook

THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL: THE EVER NEVER HANDBOOK

(For Evers and Nevers* alike)

The Ever Never HandbookSoman-ChainaniEvery year, students flock to the School for Good and Evil, ready to prepare for life in a fairy tale. The highest-ranked students become the heroes and villains of the fairy tales, while the lowest end up enchanted animals or plants (if they’re lucky, that is).  This handbook is a personal guide to help students to the top of their class—from surviving Uglification, to picking your own sidekick or henchman, to earning a part in the yearly school musical, and so much more. And of course, it’s in glorious full color and duotone because in the School for Good and Evil, very little is black-and-white.

Background:

Soman Chainani, a Harvard-educated fairy tale expert, turns all pre-conceived notions of Disney princesses and Grimms’ fairy tales upside down with his whimsical, captivating and even subversive tale of two archetypal heroines who are not what they appear to be on the surface.   Since going on-sale in 2013, The School for Good and Evil series has sold more than a million copies and has been sold into twenty countries worldwide. Universal Pictures snapped up movie rights and powerhouses Joe Roth (MaleficentSnow White and the Huntsman) and Jane Startz (Tuck Everlasting) will produce the film adaptation.  Each of the novels has had a theme – book one’s question was “Good versus Evil,” with main characters Sophie and Agatha put into the (supposedly) wrong schools; the definitions of Good and Evil turned out to not be as black and white as they seemed. In book two, “Boys versus Girls:” the notion that princesses don’t need princes to survive was explored. And in book three, “New vs. Old” brought into discussion as stories are told and retold, as they evolve and change with new characters who discover you can’t really have a future without the past.

*FYI: At the School for Good and Evil, ordinary girls and boys are trained to become legendary fairy tale heroes and villains. Children who attend the School for Good are called “Evers” and children in the School for Evil are “Nevers.” 

Link to the School for Good and Evil website HERE.

To hear our interview with Soman Chainani, just click the grey podcast bar at the bottom of the page:

Here's one of the page from the new book.

Here’s one of the pages from the new book.

Covers of the whole series so far

Covers of the whole series so far

 

Ron Suskind – Life, Animated

life-animated-posterRon Suskind300Imagine: you are the parent of a toddler, a rambling, ambling bundle of energy delighted by the world and reveling in every new word and accomplishment; growing so fast—almost too fast! Then one day, you notice your child beginning to slow down, lose words, withdraw; instead of moving forward, he seems to be in reverse. And you have no idea why.

Now, imagine you’re that child: gradually, inexplicably, uncontrollably, the big bright world you were beginning to conquer starts to dim and shrink. The new words you’ve been practicing—to your parents’ delight—have dwindled to just one: juice. The “big boy cup” you’d gotten used to you can no longer hold. You’re frustrated, you cry…your parents pull you onto their laps; they’re crying, too. You stare into each other’s eyes, wondering: what is happening?

Neither of you understands what’s going on, why, or how…or what’s next.  For Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Ron Suskind—and his wife, Cornelia, and their son, Owen—there was no need to imagine. This was their real life.

This is an extraordinary book, and the Suskinds are an extraordinary family. You can listen to our all-too-short interview with Ron and Cornelia by clicking on the grey podcast bar below.

Here are some links to find out more:

 

Paula Stokes – Girl Against the Universe

Paula Stokes official web resGirl Against the Universe CoverAbout the Book

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han.

Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.

About the Author

Paula Stokes is the author of several novels, most recently Girl Against the Universe and Liars, Inc., the latter of which received a starred review from Kirkus. Her writing has been translated into eleven foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands. She also loves interacting with readers. Find her online at authorpaulastokes.com or on twitter as @pstokesbooks.

Paula Stokes will be one of the 12 authors appearing at Klindt’s Booksellers in The Dalles for their Spring Author Festival Saturday June 4.

To hear our interview with Paula Stokes, click on the grey podcast bar below:

Kirby Larson – Audacity Jones to the Rescue

 

K Larson photoAudacity Jones cover

About the Book

Audacity Jones is an eleven-year-old orphan who aches for adventure, a challenge to break up the monotony of her life at Miss Maisie’s School for Wayward Girls. Life as a wayward girl isn’t so bad; Audie has the best of friends, a clever cat companion, and plenty of books to read. Still, she longs for some excitement, like the characters in the novels she so loves encounter.
So when the mysterious Commodore Crutchfield visits the school and whisks Audie off to Washington, DC, she knows she’s in for the journey of a lifetime. But soon, it becomes clear that the Commodore has unsavory plans for Audie — plans that involve the president of the United States and a sinister kidnapping plot. Before she knows it, Audie winds up in the White House kitchens, where she’s determined to stop the Commodore dead in his tracks. Can Audie save the day before it’s too late?

About the Author

Kirby Larson is the acclaimed author of the 2007 Newbery Honor book Hattie Big Sky; its sequel, Hattie Ever After; The Friendship Doll; and Dear America: The Fences Between Us. She has also co-written a number of picture books, including the award-winning Two Bobbies: A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival; and Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle. She lives in Washington State with her husband and Winston the Wonder Dog.
Kirby Larson will be one of the dozen authors appearing at the Spring Author Festival at Klindt’s Booksellers in The Dalles on Saturday, June 4.
Her website is here.
To hear our interview with Kirby Larson, click on the grey podcast bar below:

Kara Hamilton – A New Leash on Life

A New Leash on Life 300kara 300Smokey, the miniature apricot poodle, is blessed. But can it last? With the arrival of a new baby, he struggles to adjust to his new place in the family. After several failed tactics, he ingeniously teaches the baby how to behave around him so they may co-exist peacefully. He realizes that there’s enough love for everyone in the family, and also gains a new best friend.

This is a charming book, beautifully illustrated and lovingly written. It also includes a helpful, illustrated guide at the back with instructions for how a child should approach a dog, and what signs to look for that the dog isn’t ready to play. And an interview with the Moms of The Humane Society of the United States offers additional tips for introducing a new family member to a pet, how to teach a child to interact safely with their own 0r other people’s pets, and more.

About the Author

The adjective multi-talented is thrown around with increasing frequency these days, often with little justification. But in the case of our guest this morning, it is entirely warranted. Kara Hamilton has an actual degree in broadcast journalism from Florida State where she was a regular contributor to Florida A&M’s newspaper and to what was then the Sunshine Network and now Fox Sports Sun. Then she headed north to New York for an acting career involving indie films, national commercials and David Letterman. But that’s not all. She also has appeared as a model in international campaigns for BMW, Dockers, Ponds and Hanes among others and graced the covers of national magazines.
Now she has written the book A New Leash on Life.
It tells the story of a beloved family dog reacting to a new top dog in the family – a baby who soaks up all the attention, and how the family ultimately adjusts.

Find out more about Kara Hamilton at her website.

You can hear our interview with Kara Hamilton by clicking on the grey podcast bar below

 

Laura Miller – Raw. Vegan. Not Gross.

The book

The book

Laura Miller, photo by David Loftus

Laura Miller, photo by David Loftus

Eating vegan should mean celebrating flavor, not sacrificing it! Laura Miller does just that with her new cookbook, Raw. Vegan. Not Gross. The YouTube star brings her enthusiastic spirit into her cooking with recipes that appeal to not only vegans but all who love food. The recipes are paired with gorgeous photographs taken by Jamie Oliver’s renowned photographer, David Loftus. Laura’s debut cookbook includes more than a hundred completely vegan and mostly raw recipes that are easy to make and to love. Laura makes eating vegan fun with simple recipes tht include everything from your energizing morning avacado grapefruit bowl, sweet potato curry for a savory dinner to her mouthwatering lavender cheesecake for dessert that looks (almost) too beautiful to eat.

To hear our interview with Laura Miller, click on the grey podcast bar below: